a head shot of professor tracey sagar

Professor Tracey Sagar

Professor, Criminology

Telephone number

+44 (0) 1792 295313

Email address

Research Links

Office - 148
First Floor
Richard Price Building
Singleton Campus
Available For Postgraduate Supervision


Professor Tracey Sagar is a Professor of Criminology at the Hillary Rodham Clinton School of Law.

Career Highlights


Sex Work Research: The Centre for Criminal Justice and Criminology produces new knowledge on sex work in Wales. Professor Sagar and Debbie Jones have worked with statutory bodies and front line agencies in a multi-agency capacity to provide an evidence base towards the development of policy and practice for sex workers who work both on and off street.

External Engagement: Collaborative work has produced a solid knowledge base regarding the sex markets in Wales and has led to the sharing of innovative ideas and practice. The CCJC has hosted several events for this purpose.

Student Sex Work Project: Professor Sagar and Debbie Jones were awarded £489,000 by the Big Lottery Innovation Grant for the 'Student Sex Work Project' which pursues the development of innovative research, service development and creative dissemination.


Sex Work Research: Professor Sagar's work has involved collaborations with: Police forces across Wales; The Cardiff Sex Work/Prostitution Forum; Gibran UK; Cyrenians Cymru; Women in Need; Terrence Higgins Trust; PASOP; The UK network of Sex Work Projects (UKNSWP) and All Wales network of Sex Work Projects; Gwent Anti-Trafficking Group; The Wales Anti-Human Trafficking and Slavery Group; Student Sex Work Policy Group.

External Engagement: In 2013 the University hosted: the Student Sex Work Conference; Sex Work Symposium; Student Sex Work Policy Group Meeting. In 2014 Professor Sagar and Debbie Jones collaborated with Gibran UK to present the findings of the four year project 'Sex Work Research Wales' and hosted the European Symposium on Sex Work.

Student Sex Work Project: This is a cross sector partnership work with the University of South Wales, Terrence Higgins Trust Cymru, the NHS and NUS Cymru.