Introducing our academic staff

All members of the IISTL have substantial academic or practical experience in shipping and trade law. Many have forged a global reputation in their field.

In recent years membership has expanded to include specialists in public law and regulatory aspects of maritime and trade law.

The Institute has 17 members, of which 12 are drawn from the College of Law and Criminology. Five associate members, drawn from prestigious positions in legal practice, the shipping industry and the United Nations, also contribute significantly to the work of the IISTL.

Each year, the IISTL hosts visiting academics, often from partner institutions, who come to Swansea to advance their academic interests. They are invited to participate fully in our many research activities.



 Telephone +44



Professor Baris Soyer

(0)1792 295125



Professor Simon Baughen

(0) 1792 606319

Associate Professor Andrew Beale, O.B.E.

(0) 1792 295472

Professor Iwan Davies

(0)1792 295832

Mr David Hertzell

(0)1792 602487

Mr Måns Jacobsson

(0)1792 602487

Dr Tabetha Kurtz-Shefford

(0)1792 513579

Associate Professor George Leloudas

(0)1792 606749

Mr Fabien Lerede

(0)1792 602487

Peter Macdonald-Eggers Q.C.

(0)1792 602487

Associate Professor Theodora Nikaki

(0)1792 513516

Simon Rainey Q.C.

(0)1792 602487

Professor Andrew Tettenborn

(0)1792 602724

Professor D. Rhidian Thomas

(0)1792 602487

Youri van Logchem

(0)1792 602726

Dr Shuangge Wen

(0)1792 295833

Professor Richard Williams

(0)1792 602487