The Audit Assurance and Risk Committee is chaired by a lay member of Council and comprises lay members of Council and co-opted lay members. All members are independent of the University's management, although senior executives attend meetings as necessary. The committee has a key role in the University's governance framework in ensuring that the University complies with Statutory, University and External Regulatory requirements in its financial and non-financial activities. In respect of the issues within its terms of reference, the committee has the authority to make recommendations to the University, its organisational units and its members.

During the 2022-23 academic session, the Committee held four meetings, which focused on matters with external auditors including the annual audit plan; reviewing the effectiveness of risk management and audit arrangements; overseeing the University's ethical and behavioural policies; and discussions relating to matters concerning external auditors, Associate Director of internal audit, the Registrar and Chief Operating Officer, and the Chief Financial Officer.  

The CompositionMembership
Lay Member of Council (Chair) Mrs Marcia Sinfield
Lay Member of Council Professor Kathryn Monk
Lay Member of Council Mr Phillip Morgan
Lay Member of Council Vacancy
Co-Opted Lay Member Mrs Alison Vickers
Co-Opted Lay Member Vacancy
Staff Member of Council Vacancy
Student Member of Council Abigail Egwuatu


Date Papers Circulated to MembersDate of Meeting Time of Meeting
22/09/2023 29/09/2023 8:30am
10/11/2023 17/11/2023 8:30am
22/02/2024 29/02/2024 8:30am
13/06/2024 20/06/2024 8:30am