Photograph of The Abbey, Singleton Campus

The Council comprises external, academic and student members appointed in accordance with the Statutes of the University, a majority of whom are from outside of the University (described as lay members). None of the lay members receive any payment, apart from the reimbursement of expenses, for the work they do for the University. On appointment, Council members are required to complete a register of Interests entry. The current register of interests is available from the Secretary to Council.

All members of Council have equal status and carry equal responsibility for the decisions taken collectively by the Council.

Current Membership of Council

Role         Member
Chancellor  Professor Dame Jean Thomas 
Pro-Chancellor and Chair of Council Mr Bleddyn Phillips
Pro-Chancellor Sir Roderick Evans
Treasurer Mr Goi Ashmore 
Vice-Chancellor  Professor Paul Boyle

Professor Steve Wilks

Professor Martin Stringer

 Lay Members Appointed by the

Court of Swansea University

Mr Gordon Anderson

Mrs Jill Burgess

Professor Edward David

Professor Kathryn Monk

Ms Elin Rhys

Staff Members appointed

by and from the Senate 

Dr Ryan Murphy

Professor Joy Merrell

Professor Nuria Lorenzo-Dus

Dr Sian Rees

Lay Co-opted Members 

Dr Kerry Beynon

Dr Angus Muirhead

Ms Anne Tutt

Mrs Marcia Sinfield

Professor Keshav Singhal

Trade Union Representatives

Mr Adrian Jenkins

Professor Sue Jordan

President of the Students' Union Ms Ffion Davies
Students' Union Sports Officer