Annual Awards Nominees 2019

The Medical School has kicked off their celebrations of the University's Centenary in 2020 with their Annual Awards. Adding a new Award this year, the Centenary Award, awarded to an individual or team for their continuous service and dedication to the Medical School.  

On Friday 29th November, the Medical School celebrated their staff achievements from across the year with a special evening in Fulton House on Singleton Parc campus.

A number of categories were up for nominations along with a special Centenary Award. The evening was attended by staff from across all departments within the Medical School. Guests enjoyed a three course meal before they were entertained by the band The Contenders.

Congratulations to all those who were nominated and well done to those who were shortlisted. On the night the shortlist were announced followed by the winners of each category.

Outstanding contribution to Professional Services

Awarded to an individual or team who provide ongoing support to staff or students within Swansea University Medical School.


  • Chris Rushton
  • Life Science Hub Team
  • Marketing, Recruitment & International Team

Winner: Chris Rushton

Chris Rushton Recieving Professional Services Award

“Our workshop technician who goes above and beyond to support the operations of the school. Always willing to assist.”

Outstanding contribution to Teaching

Awarded to an individual or team who inspire and encourage their students, whilst demonstrating an innovative approach to teaching.


  • Applied Medical Sciences
  • Graduate Entry Medicine
  • Genetics and Biochemistry

Winner: Genetics and Biochemistry Teaching Team

Gen Bio Team Recieve Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Award

“Always plays a significantly role in the recruitment cycle and this year substantially increased their student numbers. They have a strong relationship with their students whom always rate their teaching highly”

Outstanding contribution to Research

Awarded to an individual or team who demonstrates exceptional research impact.


  • Ashley Akbari
  • Dr Laura Healy
  • Dr Nick Jones

Winner: Dr Nick Jones

Dr Nick Jones Recieves Research Award

“Carries out exception quality immunology research, instrumental in driving the work that led to Nature Communications paper rated 4* by REF working group”

Outstanding contribution to Enterprise and Innovation

"Awarded to an individual or team who have encourage collaboration and partnership, and promote innovation between the Medical School and external stakeholders."


  • Gareth Healey
  • Naomi Joyce
  • Simon Thompson

Winner: Simon Thompson

Simon Thompson Recieving the Enterprise and Innovation Award

“Developed and supplied a new technology ‘Secure Research Platform’ deriving several £Ms of income to the University while supporting data research across several countries across the world.”

Outstanding contribution to Outreach and Public Engagement

"Awarded to an individual or team who engage and promote the reputation and activities of Swansea University Medical School to the general public."


  • Lynsey Cross
  • HEAR Team
  • Dr Alwena Morgan
  • NanoBach

Winner: HEAR: Health Experiences of Asylum Seekers and Refugees in Wales

HEAR Team Recieve Outreach Award

“Working collaboratively with Public Health Wales and third sector partners in the community to collect data for essential research.”

Head of School Award


  • Emma Baker
  • Physician Associate Teaching Team
  • Pharmacy Team
  • Dom Parks

Winner: Pharmacy Team

Pharmacy Team Recieve Heads Award

“Developing a new innovative course to launch in 2021”

Centenary Award

Awarded to an individual or team for their continuous service and dedication to Swansea University Medical School.


  • Dr Hugh Jones
  • Genetics and Biochemistry Teaching Team • Prof Ronan Lyons

Winner: Dr Hugh Jones

Dr Hugh Jones Receiving Centenary Award

“The cornerstone of the Medical School’s undergraduate recruitment and admissions success, who has developed best practice that has shaped the way we attract and retain so many brilliant students and whose door is always open for staff and students alike”

To view all the photos from the evening please visit our Facebook page.

Share Story