2018 Longlist Announcement

The winner of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and a recipient of the Geoffrey Dearmer Prize are among 12 books on the longlist for the £30,000 International Dylan Thomas Prize in partnership with Swansea University.

Awarded for the best published literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under, the prize is named after the Swansea-born writer, Dylan Thomas, and celebrates his 39 years of creativity and productivity. One of the most influential, internationally-renowned writers of the mid-twentieth century, the prize invokes his memory to support the writers of today and nurture the talents of tomorrow. 

Launched in 2006, the International Dylan Thomas Prize in partnership with Swansea University is the largest literary prize in the world for young writers.

This year’s longlist of 12 books comprises: eight novels, two short story collections, and two volumes of poetry.

International Dylan Thomas Prize Longlisted books 2018

Zambian born author, Kayo Chingonyi, joins authors from the UK, Ireland, America, India, and Nigeria on the longlist as they contend for the £30,000 prize.

• Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀Stay With Me (Canongate Books)

• Kayo ChingonyiKumukanda (Vintage - Chatto & Windus)

• Meena KandasamyWhen I Hit You (Atlantic Books)

• Lisa McInerneyThe Blood Miracles (John Murray)

• Carmen Maria MachadoHer Body and Other Parties (Serpent's Tail / Graywolf)

• Fiona MozleyElmet (JM Originals)

• Gwendoline RileyFirst Love (Granta)

• Sally RooneyConversations With Friends (Faber & Faber)

• Emily RuskovichIdaho (Vintage - Chatto & Windus)

• Gabriel TallentMy Absolute Darling (4th Estate / Riverhead Books)

• Eley WilliamsAttrib. and Other Stories (Influx Press)

• James WomackOn Trust: A Book of Lies (Carcanet Press)

In 2017 Fiona McFarlane won the International Dylan Thomas Prize for her highly-acclaimed book, The High Places – an unforgettable collection of stunning short stories. Most recently, McFarlane has been awarded a $20k Australia Council for the Arts international residency for 2018-19, which she will undertake for six-months at the BR Whiting Studio in Rome.

Chaired by Professor Dai Smith CBE, Emeritus Raymond Williams Research Chair in the Cultural History of Wales at Swansea University, and historian and writer on Welsh arts and culture, the 2017 Judging Panel also features: poet, translator, and scholar, Professor Kurt Heinzelman; novelist and playwright, Rachel Trezise, playwright and author Paul McVeigh, and writer, publisher and festival director, Namita Gokhale.

Professor Dai Smith CBE, said: “This year’s longlist demonstrates the originality and literary excellence of work being produced by young writers from around the world. Featuring prose and poetry from new and established authors, this is an intriguing and scarily good longlist! The judges now have a very difficult job, but we can be certain that we will have an exceptionally strong shortlist of six stunningly gifted authors."

The shortlist of six books will be revealed at the end of March.

The winner will be announced on Thursday 10th May 2018 at Swansea University’s Great Hall, in the run up to International Dylan Thomas Day on 14 May.