Singleton Abbey from the Meadow

Senate’s constitution reflects Senate’s role as the academic voice of our University and aligns with the University’s Faculty structure. Senate is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor and its membership includes:


  • Ex-officio members: Members of the Senior Leadership Team, Members of the Faculty Leadership Teams, All Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellors, All Heads of School, Directors of Academic Services, Student Services and Academi Hywel Teifi, Directors of Faculty Operations, and Student members;
  • Elected members: Eighteen Professors (elected by the Professorship with a total of six per Faculty) and six non-Professorial academic staff members (elected by the non-Professorial academic community with a total of two per Faculty.


The Senate normally meets four times each year and its powers and constitution are set out in the University's Ordinance. Further information on the Senate is available from the Secretary to Senate who can be contacted via Email;