The Learned Society of Wales logo.

Eight Swansea University academics are among the new entrants to the Learned Society of Wales’ Fellowship.

They join fifty-eight other new Fellows elected to the Learned Society of Wales, half of them women, showing that Wales has the solutions to many of today’s challenges.

Academics, researchers and public figures join the Society from across academic and civic life in Wales and beyond.

The new Fellows from Swansea University are:

  • Professor Sondipon Adhikari FRAeSFRAeS FLSW, Honorary Professor
  • Professor Paul Boyle CBE FBA FRSE FRSGS FLSW, Vice-Chancellor
  • Professor Elaine Crooks FLSW, Professor of Mathematics
  • Professor Stefan Doerr FLSW, Professor (Wildfire Science)
  • Professor Kamila Hawthorne MBE FRCGP FRCP FAcadMEd FLSW, Head of Graduate Entry Medicine
  • Professor Kathryn Monk FRES FRGS FRBS FIEnvSc FLSW, Honorary Professor
  • Mr Steve Morris FLSW, Honorary Research Fellow in Applied Linguistics
  • Professor Andrew Rowley FRSB FLSW, Professor (Personal Chair) in Biosciences

Specialisms run from aerospace engineering to the history of African Europeans, ceramic microstructures to the Baroque violin, women in surgery to the National Trust and much else in-between.

A full list of the new Fellows, listing their institutions and research areas, can be downloaded here.

Professor Hywel Thomas, President of the Society, said: “The expertise of our new Fellows is outstanding. The range of research shows that Wales is well-placed to meet the environmental, technological, social, cultural, political and health challenges we face.

“The Society’s ability to bring together this talent allows us to initiate and influence important debates about how Wales, the UK and the world can navigate the turbulent waters we are in today.

“I am most pleased that 50% of our new Fellows are women. This shows we are starting to meet our commitments on equality, diversity and inclusion. There is further to go, as we work to make the Society reflect Wales’ diversity, but this is an important step.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted at the Society’s AGM, which will be held on 25th May.

Share Story