A evening of celebrations at the Sport Swansea Awards 2023

A evening of celebrations at the Sport Swansea Awards 2023

As we come to a close on another successful year of Student Sport, Sport Swansea held the 2023 Sports Awards at the Brangwyn Hall in Swansea.  

The Sports Awards dinner provides the perfect opportunity to give the students and staff who have participated in and facilitated Student Sport across the year, the recognition they deserve.  

Our students have excelled right across the board this year, with numerous league promotions, including rugby men’s 2nd, basketball men’s 2nd, football men’s 2nd, women’s tennis, ultimate men’s and volleyball men’s 1st. Tournament wise, both our swimmers and snowriders finished 5th nationally and Sport Swansea saw a select few students representing their sports at international level. This has culminated in Swansea University currently sitting 22nd out of 150 Universities in the British University & Colleges Sport rankings table, ahead of Cardiff Met, Liverpool and Glasgow. 

The showpiece event, which aims to celebrate the considerable sporting achievements of our students, is organised by the Sport Swansea Team, in conjunction with the Students’ Union. The event saw 400 students attended the annual celebration, marking the culmination of the University sporting season. 

The event was opened by the Vice Chancellor Professor, Paul Boyle and hosted by Rugby commentator Joe Byrnes, who kept the audience entertained all evening. Awards were presented by members of Senior Leadership Team, the Student’s Union and the Sport Swansea team, and the winners were also announced on the Sport Swansea Facebook page.

There were 11 winners in all, including:

  • Charitable Club of the Year – Women’s Football
  • Most Improved of the Year – Baseball and Softball
  • Social Media of the Year – Angelo Robles, Table Tennis
  • Varsity Team of the Year – Women’s Canoe Polo
  • Sportsman of the Year – Lewis Fraser, Swimming
  • Sportswoman of the Year – Tennessee Randall, Kickboxing
  • Team of the Year – Snowboard 1st team
  • Committee Member of the Year – Megan Chagger, Cheerleading
  • Coach of the Year – Emily Parkinson, Ultimate Frisbee
  • Club of the Year – Cheerleading
  • Volunteers of the Year – Sport Swansea Executive team


During the awards dinner, guests got to enjoy a delicious three course meal and some humorous stories about our students in the honesty box (and staff), before heading into Swansea to dance the night away. 

Share Story