Introducing our academic staff

All members of the IISTL have substantial academic or practical experience in shipping and trade law. Many have forged a global reputation in their field.

In recent years membership has expanded to include specialists in public law and regulatory aspects of maritime and trade law.

The Institute has 19 members, of which 14 are drawn from the College of Law and Criminology. Five associate members, drawn from prestigious positions in legal practice, the shipping industry and the United Nations, also contribute significantly to the work of the IISTL. The Institute also benefits from a specialist administrator.

Each year, the IISTL hosts visiting academics, often from partner institutions, who come to Swansea to advance their academic interests. They are invited to participate fully in our many research activities.

 

Name

 Email

 Telephone

 Director

   

Professor Baris Soyer

 B.Soyer@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 295125

 Members

   

Professor Simon Baughen

S.J.Baughen@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0) 1792 606319

Associate Professor Andrew Beale, O.B.E.

A.J.Beale@swansea.ac.uk

 +44(0) 1792 295472

Professor Iwan Davies

I.R.Davies@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 295832

Mr David Hertzell 

istl@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602487

Mr Måns Jacobsson

istl@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602487

Miss Tabetha Kurtz-Shefford

T.C.Kurtz-Shefford@swansea.ac.uk

 +44(0)1792 513579

Associate Professor George Leloudas

G.Leloudas@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 606749

Mr Fabien Lerede

istl@swansea.ac.uk

+44 (0)1792 602487

Peter Macdonald-Eggers Q.C.

istl@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602487

Associate Professor Theodora Nikaki

T.Nikaki@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 513516

Professor Dennis Patterson

D.M.Patterson@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0) 1792 602487

Simon Rainey Q.C.

istl@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602487

Dr Nima Mersadi Tabari

N.MersadiTabari@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602526

Professor Andrew Tettenborn

A.M.Tettenborn@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602724

Professor D. Rhidian Thomas

D.R.Thomas@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602487

Youri van Logchem  

Y.vanLogchem@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602726

Dr Shuangge Wen

S.Wen@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 295833

Professor Richard Williams

istl@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602487

 Administrator

   

 Ms April Adanah

W.Adanah@swansea.ac.uk

 +44 (0)1792 602487