About our scholarships

The Mathematics Department of Swansea University plans to offer Mathematics prizes/scholarships worth up to a total of £3000 for students starting their university studies in September 2017. The prizes will be awarded on the basis of a competitive two and a half hour examination to be taken on 29th March. Students should be able to sit the exam in their school or college. If you would like to take the exam, make Swansea one of your choices on your UCAS form and we will contact you about the exam when we have received the form.

It is possible that we can arrange for you to sit the exam at your school or college. Please send the name of your Head of Mathematics and the school address.

Anyone interested in taking the scholarship exam should please return a completed application form to the address:

Department of Mathematics,
College of Science,
Swansea University, Singleton Park,
Swansea SA2 8PP

or alternatively email: mathematics@swansea.ac.uk

You can also contact the Mathematics department for further details, including a specimen paper.

Note: The University will also be offering a number of Excellence Bursaries worth £3,000 over the first 2 years of the degree course on the basis of A-Level and GCSE results. Further details please see http://www.swansea.ac.uk/scholarships/excellence-bursaries/

Recent Scholarship Winners

The 2016 Scholars are: 

  • James Scott from Barry Comprehensive School, Barry
  • Melissa Coshott from  Banbury Academy, Banbury
  • Amber Tidd from Ysgol Dyffryn Aman, Carmarthenshire


 The 2015 Scholars are:

  • Killion Kullar from Pencoed Comprehensive School, Bridgend 
  • Laura Ladbrooke from Truro High School for Girls, Cornwall 
  • Farn Shei from Olchfa School, Swansea

The 2014 Scholars are: 

  • Zebulun Anderton from Moriston Comprehensive School, Swansea 
  • Lewis Hancox from Gower College, Swansea 
  • Sarah Rees, from Gower College, Swansea 
  • Gareth Warren, from Shenly Brook School, Milton Keynes 
  • Joseph Whitehead, from The McAuley Catholic High School, Doncaster 
  • Ben Wilson, from The Knights Templar School, Baldock 

The 2013 scholars are: 

  • James Cains from Cardinal Wiseman Catholic School and Language College, Coventry 
  • Joel Edgecumbe from Sheldon School, Chippenham 
  • Declan Warner from Matthew Arnold School, Oxford 

The 2012 scholars are: 

  • Nick Smith from Ysgol Dewi Saint, St David’s 
  • Sam Telford from Amman Valley School, Ammanford