A beacon for pioneering collaborations

In the Research Excellence Framework of 2014, Swansea University achieved its ambition to become a UK top 30 research institution.

Our REF ranking of 26th was the “biggest leap among research-intensive institutions”, according to Times Higher Education. Now, as the university is in its centenary year in 2020, we have new goals. They are to:

  • Continue our ambitious expansion plans
  • Extend our global reach; and
  • Move closer to becoming one of the world’s top 200 universities.

In REF 2014* the quality of Swansea’s research was put on a par with or out-performed six Russell Group universities. We were also ranked 22nd for the impact of that research.

To achieve this we had doubled our world-leading academic researchers over the previous six years, something that has proved central to the stimulating and enriching teaching and student experience provided at Swansea. But it does not stop there.

Research and teaching capacity doubled when the science and innovation Bay Campus opened in 2015. And in 2018 the £31 million Computational Foundry opened, housing more than 150 computer science researchers.

First Minister of Wales at the time, Carwyn Jones, described the Foundry "as a beacon for pioneering collaborations with researchers and industry, attracting further research funding and establishing Wales as a world-leading centre for computer science and innovation”.

Swansea University was founded by industry in 1920 to deliver for industry so we have long been known for our Science and Engineering research but now we are among UK leaders for Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences. We lead Wales in research areas critical to economic growth and population well-being including Environmental Sciences, Medicine and Social Work.

In recognition of the university’s importance to the Swansea Bay City Region, we and Swansea Council have pledged to work more closely to create more jobs, improve education and promote a culture of enterprise and innovation.

*REF 2014 covers the period 2014 until 2021