In the first week of May we held our annual general meeting kicking it off by reminiscing over the season and all our achievements.

Both the men’s and women’s teams have done really well this year and although neither of us won our leagues we have made phenomenal progress on the leader boards. It was also the first year that both teams were recognised as official Varsity sports.

We wanted to use the AGM as opportunity to recognise how far our players have come, so before we elected the new committee we gave out some awards to our players. The first two awards went to our most improved men’s and women’s team members. Marilena Nikolau was awarded the most improved women’s player. Marilena had only joined in September 2017 and her swimming and polo skills have continuously improved since then. Additionally, she has such passion for the sport and a great team spirit. Jack Townend was awarded most improved for the men’s team. Jack also joined in 2017 and has shown great improvement (especially with some crazy back-shots!).

The next award was for the Coaches’ Players. This was awarded by the coaches to Emily-Ann Westoby for her determination and enthusiasm. Emily-Ann joined in September and has quickly become a real force to be reckoned with in the water. Marcelo Reka received the men’s award for his team spirit and strong water polo skills.

The final award was a bit different. The committee had asked for nominations for the players’ player award. Eight great players were nominated: Marcelo Reka, Morganna Davies, Paul de Groot, Lucy Roca, Tom O’Driscoll, Emily-Ann Westoby, Amy Freeland and Jasmine Blakely. After explaining why each person had been nominated, the attendees were asked to vote. After much deliberation and vote counting, Lucy Roca won! She had been nominated for her great improvement and her amazing goalie skills. Having only joined two years ago Lucy has come so far and has made some amazing saves this season.  

We finished off the evening by thanking our outgoing committee. Rebecca Stratford, Sophie Hargreaves, Lucy Roca, Amy Freeland, Paul de Groot, Xerxes Panthakee and Ed Rossiter have all done so well this year organising socials, games and making sure everyone enjoyed playing polo. After speeches from those running for the 2018/2019 committee, votes were counted, and the new committee announced. The results were as follows…

Lucy Roca- President

Amy Freeland- Women’s Captain

Isabella Roberts- Women’s Vice Captain

Emily-Ann Westoby- Social Secretary

Marcelo Reka- Men’s Captain

Adam Woodman- Men’s Vice Captain

Josh Wichman- Social Secretary

After such a good season we are really looking forward to next year where we hope to win the leagues!