Further Athena SWAN Success for Swansea

A special message from the Vice Chancellor Professor Paul Boyle

"I would like to congratulate the Geography Department and the Computational Foundry - which comprises staff from both the Mathematics and Computer Science Departments - for achieving Athena SWAN bronze awards.

On behalf of SMT, I would like to thank every member of staff involved; it takes hard work and determination to identify improvements and embed them into our processes. Particular thanks are due to the self-assessment teams led by Eiry Davies for the Foundry and Dr Angharad Closs Stephens and Dr Emilia Urbanek for Geography who drove both award submissions, and to Professor Joy Merrell, Athena SWAN Lead at University level.

As you may remember, in 2017 we were the first Welsh University to achieve a silver University level Athena SWAN Charter award. Holding the Charter meets the requirements and expectations of some research councils and funders and is also a significant factor in attracting staff and students. The Charter recognises work undertaken to address gender equality broadly, not just the barriers to progression that affect women.

We currently have three College or Departmental silver awards - Swansea University Medical School, the College of Engineering, and the College of Human and Health Sciences. The School of Management and the Physics and Biosciences Departments all have bronze awards. This coming November the College of Arts and Humanities will apply for their own bronze award.

Our Athena SWAN successes demonstrate our intent to provide an inclusive and supportive environment that enables our staff and students to fulfil their potential, and uphold our commitment to improving diversity".

Professor Matt Jones, Head of the College of Science

"I'm delighted to hear of these awards. The College of Science actively promotes the inclusion of as many hands, hearts and views as we know that only with the widest and richest possible participation can truly impactful science be carried out. These awards will spur us to further actions to build a truly effective diverse community in which our staff, students and stakeholders can flourish".