Diane Kelly

Diane KellyDiane began her career in London as an undergraduate and it was during this time she became interested in “Bio-transformations and Cytochromes P450” and this was developed further during her PhD  a joint project between Imperial Cancer Research Fund and Swansea University. It was in Swansea  where she met and married Steven, another post grad in the lab! Her post doctoral career was begun at Sheffield University, firstly in the Genetics Department and later in The Wolfson Institute of Biotechnology, where she joined her husband for what has turned out to be a joint research interest in cytochromes P450 ever since. During this time they had two sons, deemed by both as the best “result “in their careers.

After a move from Sheffield to Aberystwyth University  Diane was the first female at Aberystwyth to gain the tHE certificate (awarded through Bangor University, so surprisingly she is an official alumnus of Bangor.)  Diane came full circle to Swansea University as Reader and then Professor in the newly formed Swansea Clinical School, now the College of Medicine, in 2004. Her research continues to be on Microbial Cytochromes P450 related to their biodiversity, as targets for antifungal agents in both medicine and agriculture and the associated rise in fungal resistance to current therapies. She is a member of the BBSRC pool of experts and Natural Products (NPRONET, NIBB) board member.

Throughout her career Diane has always been passionate about equality both in and out of the work place. The advent of Athena SWAN, a charter introduced by the Equality Challenge Unit in London for ensuring this, initially for women in STEMM subjects in Academia, has provided a roadmap for University’s and their constituent departments to develop this for their female staff and students. It has been taken up with enthusiasm by Swansea University and Diane had the privilege of being a member of the first University committee to  gain the Bronze award, since then she has chaired the University Athena SWAN  committee for the successful Bronze Award renewal in 2013 as well as the Medical School's Silver Award in 2015. She is a member of the University Athena SWAN Strategy group, chaired by Prof Lappin –Scott and is a regular member/chair of UK Athena SWAN assessment panels. She chairs the College of Medicine’s Equality and Diversity committee, part of whose remit is to oversee the College’s  work towards an Athena SWAN silver award.