3rd Moot Competition in Commercial/Maritime Law- Swansea LLM students’ winners

Swansea LLM students emphatically won the 3rd Mooting Competition on Commercial and Maritime Law hosted by 7 King’s Bench Walk and Informa Law from Routledge.

The event attracted 10 mooting teams representing the University of Exeter, University of Sheffield, University of Nottingham, City University, Coventry University, University of Birkbeck, Bangor University and Swansea University. The initial rounds of the Competition were held in Swansea on 18th-19th June with the Final held at Middle Temple Inn in London on 20 June 2016. Swansea was represented by two teams one led by Kirsten Jackson and Jacqueline Dammens and the second one led by Ashlee Xi and Breeda Okpo.

Group photo Mooting 2016

Swansea LLM Mooting Teams with Professor Soyer, Professor Andrew Tettenborn, Dr Theodora Nikaki, Dr Leloudas and Miss Tabetha Kurtz-Shefford‌

The Swansea team led by Kirsten and Jacqueline won all their matches in the initial rounds, achieving the highest score among all participating teams. They deservedly reached the Final where they competed against the team of Paul Ng and Benedict Tse from the University of Sheffield. In a closely contested session before Mr Justice Picken, Peter MacDonald Eggers QC and Jason Robinson of 7 KBW the Swansea Team performed in an outstanding fashion winning over the panel of arbitrators. Kirsten Jackson also won the Best Speaker Award concluding a brilliant day for Swansea. The shortlist for Best Speaker Award also contained the name of Jacqueline and the shortlist for Best Skeleton Arguments also contained the name of Ashlee and Breeda. Such success could not have been achieved without the indefatigable efforts of Ms Tabetha Kurtz-Shefford, the Swansea Mooting Coach, who went beyond the call of duty to make sure that our teams are prepared in the best possible way.

Finalists (Mooting 2016)

The finalists advancing their arguments before the arbitrators

Commenting after the event, Dr George Leloudas, Mooting Co-ordinator for the Department of Shipping and Trade Law, said: “For the third year in a row we are grateful for the support of 7 KBW and Informa law from Routledge that has established this competition as the leading commercial/maritime one in the UK. We are very happy to see new teams joining our competition every year, a development that gives us impetus to continue organising it. We are also indebted to the participating arbitrators, who willingly gave their valuable (weekend) time for this event, as well as to Mr Justice Picken, for presiding over the panel that judged the Final. As for the Swansea Teams they made us overly proud with their achievements, demonstrating a thorough knowledge of commercial law.”

Kirsten Moting 2016

Miss Kirsten Jackson receiving the Best Speaker award from Dr George Leloudas, Associate Professor – Moot Co-ordinator

For further information, please see the 3rd Moot Competition in Commercial/Maritime Law Report

7KBWlogoInforma logo