Colloquium Confirms Swansea’s Place as Centre of Excellence in Maritime Law

Annual Colloquium 2006

The two-day event (14-15 September 2006) organised by the Institute of International Trade and Shipping Law, a recognised research centre within the Law School, was a great success attracting 62 delegates from 10 different legal jurisdictions. In addition to academics, delegates from various sectors of maritime practice, such as solicitors, barristers, consultants and marine surveyors, showed a great interest to the Colloquium. The Department  for Transport was also represented by Mr Andrew Stewart from the Marine Legal Division.

Some of the delegates who attended the Colloquium

Some of the delegates who attended the Colloquium

The topics covered during the Colloquium included: liabilities arising out of ship source pollution, liabilities of ports, liabilities of salvors, liabilities of classification societies, the impact of the ISM and ISPS Codes on the evolution of maritime liabilities, passenger liabilities, liabilities for wrongful arrest of ships and limitation of liability.

The papers were published in a book entitled "Liability Regimes in Contemporary Maritime Law" in June 2007 by Informa.

The following distinguished speakers presented papers:

Dr Phil Anderson (Managing Director, ConsultISM Ltd, UK)

Mr Archie Bishop (Legal Adviser, International Salvage Union)

Professor Martin Davies (Director, Maritime Law Center, Tulane University, USA)

Professor Robert Force, (Director Emeritus, Maritime Law Centre, Tulane University, USA)

Professor Eric van Hooydonk (University of Antwerp, Belgium)

Mr Måns Jacobsson (Director of the IOPC Funds, London, UK)

Mr Simon Kverndal QC (Quadrant Chambers, London, UK)

Mr Nigel Meeson QC (Quadrant Chambers, London, UK)

Professor P K Mukherjee (World Maritime University, Malmö, Sweden)

Professor Erik Røsæg (Director, Scandinavian Institute of Maritime Law, University of Oslo, Norway)

Mr Colin de la Rue (Partner, Ince & Co, London, UK)

Professor Dr Frank Smeele (Erasmus University, The Netherlands)

Dr Baris Soyer (Institute of International Shipping and Trade Law, Swansea University, UK)

Mr Toby Stephens (Solicitor, Holman Fenwick & Willan, London, UK)

Professor Andrew Tettenborn (Exeter University, UK)

Professor Rhidian Thomas (Director, Institute of Shipping and International Trade Law, Swansea University, UK)

Richard Williams (Institute of International Shipping and Trade Law, Swansea University, UK)

Professor D Thomas

Professor D Thomas addressing the delegates at the opening of the Colloquium (sitting around the table from left to right Professor Professor Erik Røsæg, Mr Måns Jacobsson, Professor Robert Force and  Mr Colin de la Rue)