'Protected characteristic' is the term from the Equality Act 2010 for nine characteristics protected by law.

The nine protected characteristics are:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender Reassignment
  4. Marriage and Civil Partnership (Staff only)
  5. Pregnancy and Maternity
  6. Race
  7. Religion and Belief
  8. Sex
  9. Sexual Orientation

Swansea University is committed to ensuring equal opportunity for all and that all staff and students, regardless of their protected characteristics are able to achieve their full potential.

In accordance with the Equality Act 2010, the University has produced staff and student objectives for each protected characteristic, that forms its equality policy, known as the Strategic Equality Plan.  

Protected Characteristics