Postgraduate Research Programmes

The UK and Welsh Governments have confirmed that EU students commencing their studies in the academic year 2021/22 will be classified as international students. As such, EU students will no longer be eligible to pay UK fee status or have access to funding through the Student Loans Company.

At Swansea, we wish to support EU students that will be affected by this change in status with an EU Transitional Bursary for those who join us in the academic year 2021/22. The bursary will be awarded as an automatic discount to tuition fees and will reduce the fees to the same level as UK tuition fees for those that are eligible. This will apply for the duration of your course.


Key eligibility details include:

  • Available to those studying a Master’s by Research (including MRes), Master of Philosophy (MPhil), Doctor of Medicine (MD), Doctorate (PhD, EngD, DProf., Degree by Published Works)
  • Must be ordinarily domiciled in an EU country*.
  • Must be an EU applicant that has been classified by the University as an international student for 2021/22 academic year entry fees purposes, i.e. October 2021, January 2022, April 2022 & July 2022 enrolment windows.
  • Full-time and part-time courses are eligible.

Full terms and conditions will be added as soon as available


Each bursary is worth the difference in price between the international and UK tuition fee. For information about the course fees, please visit the Postgraduate Research Courses page.

How to Apply

Bursaries will automatically be awarded to students who accept an offer to study an eligible research course at Swansea University. You do not need to make a separate application for this bursary.

To be considered for a bursary, you must complete the following steps:

For more information, please contact   

*The EU countries that are included for domicile purposes are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.