Coronavirus: latest information

Research Interests

Dr David Aldous

daldous@cardiffmet.ac.uk

Research Interests: Paulo Freire ideas and how they can be used to generate forms of educational activism and emancipation within Welsh communities.

Keywords: Sociology of education,  critical pedagogy,  social theory,  qualitative methodologies

Countries of specialism: Brazil, Wales


Dr Tilmann Altenberg

altenbergtg@cardiff.ac.uk

Research interests: comic

Countries of specialism: Cuba, Mexico


Dr Ceire Broderick

broderickc@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Latin American literatura & culture

Countries of specialism: Chile


Dr Andrew Dowling

dowlinga@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Catalan history

Countries of specialism:  Spain (Barcelona)


Dr Sian Edwards

dwardss38@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Politics & History; National identities in Spain (Catalonia)

Countries of specialism:  Spain


Dr Ryan Prout

proutr@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Visual Cultures, Disability and Illness Narratives, Spanish and Latin American Film and Literature.

Countries of specialism:  Spain


Dr Beatriz Rucio-Arribas

rubioarribasb@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Fictional Representations of the Spanish Civil War and Post War Spain: a feminine perspective

Countries of specialism: Spain


Dr Joey Whitfield

whitfieldj1@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Latin American literature and film, prisoner writing, testimonial texts and creative writing by anarchists

Countries of specialism: Cuba, Peru, Mexico, Costa Rica, Bolivia and Brazil


Dr Barbara Ibinarriaga-Soltero

ibinarriagasolterob@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Mindfulness-based interventions, meditation and contemplative practices in general, history of Buddhism in Mexico, pedagogical approaches in teaching meditation/mindfulness, methods in studying mindfulness. 

Keywords: Mindfulness, Buddhism, Mexico, qualitative research, research methods, contemplative practices.

Countries of specialism: Mexico


Dr Sara Delamont

delamont@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Ethnography

Keywords: Qualitative Research, Performativity, Embodiment, Capoeira

Countries of specialism: Brazil

Staff profile page


Dr Agustin Valera-Medina

valeramedinaa1@cardiff.ac.uk

Research Interests: Engineering