Join a thriving postgraduate research community

Swansea, Cardiff, Aberystwyth and Bangor Universities are partners in the all-Wales Doctoral Training Centre (DTC). Led by Cardiff University, the DTC trains top-level social scientists on a range of issues affecting society today.

The establishment of a Doctoral Training Centre funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) allows 33 new postgraduate studentships to be offered every year in Wales for the next five years.

The Swansea arm of the DTC is hosted by the Research Institute for Applied Social Sciences (RIASS).

Our pathways

Swansea University offers a number of pathways for postgraduate research:

  • Economics and Business
  • Social Work and Social Care (including Social Policy and Gerontology)
  • Criminology
  • Human Geography
  • Language Based Area Studies

Current studentships

There are currently no available studentships but please revisit this page again soon to find out about further opportunities.