The Dylan Thomas Prize has announced its longlist for its 2013 award with a playwright featuring for the first time in the Prize’s history.

RIAH thin image bar

Dylan Thomas PrizeNow in its seventh year, the international Prize, which is sponsored by Swansea University, is open to any published author in the English language under the age of 30. This year’s longlist honours authors from across the globe, from Australia to South Sudan, and features eight prose works, three poetry works and a play.

Of the twelve-strong list, there are eleven international publishers and nine debut works which underpins the Prize’s mantra of unearthing new literary talent from across the globe.

Commenting on this year’s longlist, Chair of the Prize, Peter Stead, said: “This year’s longlist is an eclectic list of considerable variety, taking us from war torn Sudan to the 2003 firestorms raging through British Columbia, with stops along the way in rioting Johannesburg, the scorched landscape of Nevada and Hindu festivals in Darjeeling among other places.

Every year of the Prize is different from the previous one but this year, the sheer volume of new talent we’ve discovered leaves me with a feeling that we are going to have an exceptional year. These are books that readers will definitely want to get their hands on.”

The Dylan Thomas Prize 2013 longlist:


Emma Chapman How To Be A Good Wife (Picador)

Tim Leach The Last King Of Lydia (Atlantic)

Prajwal Parajuly The Gurkha’s Daughter (Quercus)

Marli Roode Call It Dog (Atlantic)

Julie Sarkissian Dear Lucy (Hodder & Stoughton)

Majok Tulba Beneath The Darkening Sky (Oneworld)

Claire Vaye Watkins Battleborn (Granta)

D.W. Wilson Ballistics (Hamish Hamilton)


James Brookes Sins Of The Leopard (Salt)

Jemma L. King The Shape Of A Forest (Parthian)

David Shook Our Obsidian Tongues (Eyewear)


Polly Stenham No Quarter (Faber)

The Dylan Thomas Prize was established in 2006 as one of the world’s highest paying literary awards for young writers from around the world to celebrate the legacy of Welsh poet and writer Dylan Thomas who wrote most of his work in his twenties. Since then, the Prize has become an unfailingly reliable guide to the best new literary talent by unearthing and recognising young writers from across the globe.

The winner will receive a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze cast of Dylan Thomas. The shortlist will be announced in the autumn with the winner being announced at an awards ceremony in Dylan Thomas’ hometown of Swansea in November.

The 2013 judges are includes the founder of the Hay Festival, Peter Florence, novelist and Telegraph columnist Allison Pearson, author, singer and BBC 6 music presenter Cerys Matthews, journalist and author Carolyn Hitt, commentator and artist Kim Howells, Guardian Review journalist Nicholas Wroe, poet and English professor at the University of Texas Kurt Heinzelman and Chairman of the Dylan Thomas Prize, Peter Stead.