Swansea University College Research Hubs

College hubs are physically located at College level to support local needs, and are populated by knowledgeable professional services staff who understand the purpose and strategic aims of the University and College. The hub based team has a wealth of knowledge and experience of working in collaboration with external stakeholders such as business partners and research sponsors. 

 

The College Research Hubs

Arts, Humanities & Law Hub

 

Name & Contact Details Job Title & role Description

Dr Mark Penny

01792 (60) 2472 

m.w.penny@swansea.ac.uk

Hub Manager

Manage and lead College-based Hub activity based on strategic priorities and targets of colleges. Will work closely with central PS managers.

Nathan Roger

01792  (60) 6690

n.roger@swansea.ac.uk

Research Development Officer

First point of contact for research enquiries with local responsibility for proactively facilitating quality research bids in line with college priorities and targets, the internal SURGE fund and management of external sponsors and associated opportunities.

Allan Griffiths

01792 606848

a.j.d.griffiths@swansea.ac.uk

Research Support Advisor

Local point of contact for grant development and delivery queries, including support to PIs in use of Award Management System (AMS) to create project costings. 

Susannah Field

01792 602675

s.field@swansea.ac.uk

Bid Writer

Local responsibility for editing and enhancing research bids drafted by Principal Investigators to increase quality.

Stuart Gwynn

01792 295757

s.d.gwynn@swansea.ac.uk

Project Services

Responsible for supporting post-award financial aspects of projects, including claims and auditing.

Kate Spiller

k.spiller@swansea.ac.uk

01792 606587

Impact & Engagement Officer

Local responsibility for proactive business engagement and coordination via a CRM culture. Role will also support impact agenda for the Colleges. 

Sue Davies

sue.davies@swansea.ac.uk

01792 295890

Procurement Officer

Supports procurement aspects of projects.

Susan Owen

01792 602335

 

Project Services

Responsible for supporting post-award financial aspects of projects, including claims and auditing. 

Vanya Stares

vanya.stares@swansea.ac.uk

Contracts Officer

 

Bay Hub

Bay Hub supports the College of Engineering and School of Management located at Bay Campus.

Latest news from the Bay Hub (December 2016) - *Lots of new grant proposal opportunities included 

 

Name & Contact Details Job Title & role Description

Dr Peter Martin

01792 295978

p.j.martin@swansea.ac.uk

Hub Manager

Manage and lead College-based Hub activity based on strategic priorities and targets of colleges. Will work closely with central PS managers.

David Menichino

01792 295274 

d.j.menichino@swansea.ac.uk

Research Development Officer

First point of contact for research enquiries with local responsibility for proactively facilitating quality research bids in line with college priorities and targets, the internal SURGE fund and management of external sponsors and associated opportunities.

Oliver Williams

01792 604649

oliver.williams@Swansea.ac.uk

Research Support Advisor

Local point of contact for grant development and delivery queries, including support to PIs in use of Award Management System (AMS) to create project costings. 

Laura Bowden

L.J.Bowden@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (60) 3717

Research Support Advisor

Local point of contact for grant development and delivery queries, including support to PIs in use of Award Management System (AMS) to create project costings. 

Fiona Jones

01792 604128

f.e.jones@swansea.ac.uk 

Research Development Officer

Louise Evans

01792 295067

l.a.evans@swansea.ac.uk

Project Services

Responsible for supporting post-award financial aspects of projects located at Bay Campus, including claims and auditing.

Vacant

Impact & Engagement Officer

Local responsibility for proactive business engagement and coordination via a CRM culture. Role will also support impact agenda for the Colleges. 

Christine Castle

01792 602482

c.e.castle@swansea.ac.uk

Project Portfolio Manager

Responsible for proactive project management, assurance and risk on behalf of the College/University for external projects. 

Owen Cullen

01792 606268

o.n.cullen@swansea.ac.uk

Deputy Head of Procurement

Responsible for supporting procurement aspects of projects located at Bay Campus.

Kath Dunseath

01792 295873

k.a.dunseath@swansea.ac.uk

Senior Procurement Assistant

Supports procurement aspects of projects located at Bay Campus.

Kelly Walker

 

Bid Writer

Local Responsibility for editing and enhancing research bids drafted by Principal Investigators to increse quality. 

Elizabeth Jones

01792 606762

e.s.jones@swansea.ac.uk

Contracts Officer

 

Useful Hub Specific Information

Life Science Hub

Life Science Hub supports Swansea University Medical School and the College of Human & Health Sciences located on Singleton Campus.

 

Name & Contact Details Job Title & role Description

Bethan Mackay

b.j.mackay@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (29) 5315 

Hub Manager

Manage and lead College-based Hub activity based on strategic priorities and targets of colleges. Will work closely with central PS managers.

Dr Nicola Purdy

n.j.purdy@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (60) 6895

Research Development Officer

First point of contact for research enquiries with local responsibility for proactively facilitating quality research bids in line with college priorities and targets, the internal SURGE fund and management of external sponsors and associated opportunities.

Ray Perrins

ray.perrins@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (60) 4917

Research Development Officer

First point of contact for research enquiries with local responsibility for proactively facilitating quality research bids in line with college priorities and targets, the internal SURGE fund and management of external sponsors and associated opportunities.

Amber Furmage 

a.l.furmage@swansea.ac.uk

01792 513468

Research Support Advisor

Local point of contact for grant development and delivery queries, including support to PIs in use of Award Management System (AMS) to create project costings. 

Carla Humphreys

c.a.humphreys@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (29) 5717

Contracts Officer

 

Dominic Parkes

d.a.c.parkes@swansea.ac.uk

01792 606670

Bid Writer

Local responsibility for editing and enhancing research bids drafted by Principal Investigators to increase quality.

Tricia Woolvin

p.woolvin@swansea.ac.uk

01792 295550

Project Services

Responsible for supporting post-award financial aspects of projects, including claims and auditing.

Dr Ria Chapman

r.m.chapman@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (51) 3467

Impact & Engagement Officer

Local responsibility for proactive business engagement and coordination via a CRM culture. Role will also support impact agenda for the Colleges. 

Shamala Govindasamy

s.govindasamy@swansea.ac.uk

01792 606241

Project Portfolio Manager

Responsible for proactive project management, assurance and risk on behalf of the College/University for external projects. 

Laura Miles

l.miles@swansea.ac.uk

01792 602779

Acting Procurement Officer

Responsible for supporting procurement aspects of projects.

Sarah Buckley

s.e.buckley@swansea.ac.uk

01792 606069

Senior Procurement Assistant

Supports procurement aspects of projects.

 

Useful Hub Specific Information

Science Hub

The Science Hub supports Swansea University's College of Science.

 

Name & Contact Details Job Title & role Description

Shaun Richardson

s.d.richardson@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (29) 5564

Hub Manager

Manage and lead College-based Hub activity based on strategic priorities and targets of colleges. Will work closely with central PS managers.

Yvonne Morgan

Yvonne.Morgan@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (60) 4192

Research Development Officer

First point of contact for research enquiries with local responsibility for proactively facilitating quality research bids in line with college priorities and targets, the internal SURGE fund and management of external sponsors and associated opportunities.

Barbara Usher

b.e.c.usher@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (60) 6371

Research Support Advisor (Chemistry, Computer Science, Geography)

Local point of contact for grant development and delivery queries, including support to PIs in use of Award Management System (AMS) to create project costings. 

Jenna Hopkins

j.k.hopkins@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (29)5310

Research Support Advisor (Bioscience, Physics, Mathematics)

Local point of contact for grant development and delivery queries, including support to PIs in use of Award Management System (AMS) to create project costings. 

Amy Rowland

a.rowland@swansea.ac.uk

01792 (60) 2437

Bid Writer

Local responsibility for editing and enhancing research bids drafted by Principal Investigators to increase quality.

Sarah Haynes-Evans

s.e.haynes@swansea.ac.uk

01792 295435 

Project Services

Responsible for supporting post-award financial aspects of projects, including claims and auditing.

Rhian Melita Morris

r.m.morris@swansea.ac.uk

01792 606516

Impact & Engagement Officer

Local responsibility for proactive business engagement and coordination via a CRM culture. Role will also support impact agenda for the Colleges. 

Meghann Morris

m.c.morris@swansea.ac.uk

01792 513726

Project Portfolio Manager

Responsible for proactive project management, assurance and risk on behalf of the College/University for external projects. 

Sue Davies

sue.davies@swansea.ac.uk

01792 295890

Procurement Officer

Responsible for supporting procurement aspects of projects.

Vanya Stares

Vanya.Stares@swansea.ac.uk 

Contracts Officer

 

Useful Hub Specific Information