About AMS

Welcome to the Award Management System (AMS) page for Swansea University. AMS provides Researchers, Colleges/Schools and Professional Services managers with a single process and system for all external funded applications. The system enables efficient costing and pricing, approval and authorisation and management information.

All bids must go through AMS.

If you would like further information or have any queries please email ams@swansea.ac.uk.

Accessing the AMS

Access to the AMS is available via the 'Education and research' left hand menu within Agresso Business World (ABW).

 

Click here to access the Award Management System

 

Username and Password are the same as your PC login. Client is left blank.  This will take you into the AMS System. 

The Education and Research tab will take you to the main menu for entering and managing your Research proposals/Awards.

Within the Grant Management Sub-menu you can access the required screens to work on your Proposal.

LogIn AMS1 GrantManagement

Training

AMS training materials, written user guides and videos are available on the AMS Training Page.

 Written-docs‌   Video

 

 

 In the first instance new starters and existing staff training is met via the provided online guides. 

Hands on Training

We are currently reviewing our training policy; further details will be released shortly. Please use the link below If you would like to contact us to organise specific training for your College/School:  

Request Training

 

 

‌‌ Further AMS Supporting Materials

Policies2FAQsKeywords

Aims of AMS

Since the introduction of AMS we are able to:

  • support the planned growth in competitive research applications and subsequent research income awarded to Swansea University
  • more easily guide researchers through a paperless online research application process
  • release PIs time to focus on the bid development (off line)
  • help stakeholders make strategic decisions about the future direction of research

The benefits are:

  • improved process efficiency (saving of academic and administrative time)
  • transparency of information (progress of activities and performance of individuals)
  • assist with demand management/quality enhancement
  • removal of duplication of data capture
  • capture of a fuller, richer set of information
  • Consistent reporting. 

The critical target groups to benefit from this system are:

  • PIs who apply for external funding, and their support staff
  • REIS-Hub Research Support staff, to enable greater focus on bid development
  • College and University Management

Contact US

Julie Williams (Head of Research Development, REIS) j.williams@swansea.ac.uk Tel: 01792 295824

Karl Beer (AMS Maintenance and System support, REIS) k.r.beer@swansea.ac.uk Tel: 01792 606622

For support with Costing and Pricing of your Proposal please contact the Research Support Advisors based in the 4 Research Hubs:

Meet the Research Development Team - Science Hub

Name Contact

Shaun Richardson

Hub Manager

   Profile Pic

Telephone

01792 (29) 5564

Email

s.d.richardson@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room 016

Margam Building

Singleton Campus

Yvonne Morgan

Research Development Officer

 

Telephone

01792 (60)4192

Email

Yvonne.Morgan@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room 011

Margam Building

Singleton Campus

Barbara Usher

Research Support Advisor

(Chemistry, Computer Science, Geography)

   BarbaraU

Telephone

01792 (60) 6371

Email

b.e.c.usher@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room 011

Margam Building

Singleton Campus

Jenna Hopkins

Research Support Advisor

(Biosciences, Maths, Physics)

   Profile Pic

Telephone

01792 (60) 4443

Email

j.k.hopkins@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room 011

Margam Building

Singleton Campus

 

Amy Rowland

Bid Writer

   ‌

Telephone

01792 (60) 2437

Email

a.rowland@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room 011

Margam Building

Singleton Campus

Oliver Williams

Research Support Advisor

Telephone

01792 (60) 2437

Email

Oliver.Williams@Swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room 011

Margam Building

Singleton Campus

Meet the Research Development Team - Life Science Hub

 

 

Name Contact

Bethan Mackay

Hub Manager

   BethanM-webpic

LinkedIn

Telephone

01792 (29) 5315 

Email

b.j.mackay@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Level 3

Institute of Life Science 2

Singleton Campus

Nicola Purdy

Research Development Officer

   Profile Pic

 

Telephone

01792 (60) 6895

Email

n.j.purdy@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Level 3

Institute of Life Science 2

Singleton Campus

Ray Perrins

Research Development Officer

   Profile Pic

 

Telephone

01792 (60) 4917

Email

ray.perrins@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Level 3

Institute of Life Science 2

Singleton Campus

Sian Lewis

Research Support Advisor

   Profile Pic

Telephone

01792 (60) 2126

Email

s.lewis@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Level 3

Institute of Life Science 2

Singleton Campus

Dominic Parkes

Bid Writer

   DominicP

Telephone

01792 (60) 6670

Email

d.a.c.parkes@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Level 3

Institute of Life Science 2

Singleton Campus

Laura Bowden

Research Support Advisor

Telephone

01792 (60) 3717

Email

L.J.Bowden@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Level 3

Institute of Life Science 2

Singleton Campus

Meet the Research Development Team - Bay Hub

 

Name Contact

Peter Martin

Hub Manager

   PeterM-webpic

Telephone

01792 (29) 5978

Email

p.j.martin@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room A130

Engineering Central

Bay Campus

David Menichino

Research Development Officer

   Profile Pic

Telephone

01792 (29) 5274

Email

d.j.menichino@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room A130

Engineering Central

Bay Campus

Amber Furmage

Research Support Advisor

Telephone

01792 (60) 604617

Email

A.L.Furmage@Swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room A130

Engineering Central

Bay Campus

Fiona Jones

Bid Writer

   FionaJ

Telephone

01792 (60) 4128

Email

f.e.jones@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room A130

Engineering Central

Bay Campus 

Laura Bowden

Research Support Advisor

Telephone

01792 (60)3717

Email

L.J.Bowden@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Room A130

Engineering Central

Bay Campus 

 

 

Meet the Research Development Team - Arts, Humanities & Law Hub

 

Name Contact

Mark Penny

Hub Manager

Telephone

01792 (60) 2472 

Email

m.w.penny@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Floor 4, Room 405a

Keir Hardie

Singleton Campus

Julie Griffiths

Research Development Officer

   Profile Pic

 

Telephone

01792 (60) 6868  

Email

e.j.griffiths@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Floor 4, Room 405a

Keir Hardie

Singleton Campus

Allan Griffiths 

Research Support Advisor

   AllanG-webpic

Telephone

01792 (60) 6848

Email

a.j.d.griffiths@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Floor 4, Room 405a

Keir Hardie

Singleton Campus

Susannah Field  

Bid Writer

   Profile Pic

Telephone

01792 (60) 2675

Email

s.field@swansea.ac.uk

Location

Floor 4, Room 405a

Keir Hardie

Singleton Campus