NHS Wales

NHS Wales is one of the main partner organisations of Swansea University Medical School.

The two principle NHS boards are the Abertawe Bro Morgannwg (ABM) and Hywel Dda health boards.

The Medical School works with these health boards for the delivery of all our teaching, research  and innovation activities. This collaboration opens links and opportunities to all the local hospitals, including Singleton and Morriston hospitals which are both situated in Swansea, and is particularly important when it comes to our academic programmes.

The NHS is committed to the partnership with the Medical School and our Institute of Life Science (ILS). This commitment has seen the NHS in Wales continue to develop and support learning and research. 

Today more than 40% of the annual operating budget of the Welsh Government is allocated to the NHS. This is an open demonstration of the Welsh Government’s recognition that it is through the NHS Wales that we can make a difference and have a tangible impact on the health and well being of the people of Wales.

Swansea University Medical School has hugely ambitious plans to transform home and hospital care across the Hywel Dda and ABMU Health Boards. We’ll be working closely with our NHS partners to deliver the principles of ARCH (A Regional Collaboration for Health).