Swansea University Medical School Annual Awards 2017

On Friday 1st December, Swansea University Medical School held its 2017 Annual Awards Ceremony at the Brangwyn Hall and was attended by staff, students and guests from across the school.

There were over 40 nominations across the seven awards which were up for grabs this year, all of which were highly competitive. The judging panel comprised of Professor Keith Lloyd, Professor Cathy Thornton, Professor Gareth Jenkins, and Mr Paul Roberts.

Guests enjoyed a 3 course meal, entertainment from The Young Vinyls and later The Arrhythmics. The event was hosted by MC Kevin Johns and also included a raffle for the schools charity St David’s Medical Foundation, who this year donated the funds to the Swansea Gambia link.

The panel decided on a shortlist of 4 per category, one of which was awarded the overall winner. The awards went to the following;

Student Ambassador Award for Outstanding Contribution

“Awarded to the student who goes above and beyond their studies while positively representing Swansea University Medical School.”


  • Marianne Broderick, GEM Y4
  • Natalie Hughes, Applied Medical Sciences Y2
  • Rebecca Jones, GEM Y4
  • Alex Ruddy, GEM Y2

Winner was Natalie Hughes, Applied Medical Sciences Y2

Annual Awards 2017 Student Image


 “Natalie has made a significant contribution to Team AMS since starting in 2016, acting as an ambassador attending Open Days while sharing her experience on the course. She also undertook a SPIN placement and helped shape the induction events for new and returning students. Natalie is enthusiastic and acts as an excellent representative for the medical school.” 




Outstanding contribution to Operations Support Awards

Awarded to the team or individual or team who provides ongoing support to staff or students within Swansea University Medical School.


  • Martin, Sandra, Sam, and Julie - Medical School Reception Team
  • Simon Thompson, HIRU Technical Team
  • Simon Davies, Finance Manager
  • Michelle Doherty, Medical Education Office

Joint winners were announced as;

Michelle Doherty, Medical Education Office 

Annual Awards 2017 Operations Image


“Michelle plays a crucial role in the smooth running of examinations for GEM and PA students. No task is too much effort, putting staff and students ahead of herself repeatedly. Michelle has risen to multiple challenges to ensure smooth running of both teaching and the various assessments this year.” 

And Simon Davies, Finance Business Partner

“For his professionalism and the knowledge he has brought to the Medical School, supporting academics, research and operational colleagues in all areas of financial management to ensure a stable future for the Medical School”


Outstanding contribution to Teaching Award

Awarded to an individual or team who inspire and encourage their students, whilst demonstrating an innovative approach to teaching:


  • Margaret Byrne, GEM Tutor
  • Sue Pugh, GEM
  • Geertje Van Keulen, GenBio
  • Pramodh Vallabhaneni, GEM

Winner was Margaret Byrne, Graduate Entry Medicine

Annual Awards 2017 Teaching Image



“Margaret is the GEM Year 2 ICM Module Lead, supporting and nurturing our Medical Students. Her dedication to her role and the success of her students is testament to the high regard in which she is held by staff and students alike.”




Outstanding contribution to Research Award

Awarded to an individual or team who demonstrates exceptional research impact.


  • Diabetes Research Unit, Cymru
  • Sarah Rodgers, Associate Professor
  • South West Wales Cancer Institute Melanoma and Urology Clinical Trails Team
  • Shareen Doak, PATROLS Lead

Winner was Shareen Doak, PATROLS Lead

Annual Awards 2017 Research


“The PATROLS Horizon 2020 grant is one of the largest and most prestigious projects won in the Medical School’s history. Valued at 13 million Euros (£11m) and involving 26 partner organisations from across the globe, Professor Shareen Doak is spearheading the project. The effort that went into securing the grant was phenomenal and the outputs that will emanate from the project such as; further income, papers and impact, are likely to be enormous.”




Outstanding contribution to Enterprise and Innovation

Awarded to an individual or team who have encourage collaboration and partnership, and promote innovation between the Medical School and external stakeholders.


  • BEACON Research Team
  • Caroline Coleman-Davies, International Strategic Partnerships
  • Naomi Joyce, E&I Team
  • William Griffiths, Mass Spectrometry

Winner was; Caroline Coleman-Davies, International Strategic Partnerships

Annual Awards 2017 Enterprise Image

“In support of our research, student experience and internationalisation objectives, Caroline has facilitated new relationships between the Medical School and Texas partner institutions. Caroline was indispensable in establishing 10 placements for Applied Medical Sciences undergraduates this summer in Baylor College of Medicine, University of Houston in Texas. A team of these students won over $25,000 in research and development money through these placements, while gaining a once in a lifetime experience. Caroline also organised the Swansea University Texas Research Excellence Showcase.”



 Outstanding contribution to Outreach Activities

Awarded to an individual or team that engage with and promote the representational and activities of Swansea University Medical School to the general public.


  • Jane John, St David’s Medical Foundation
  • Ruth Jones,  Research Officer
  • Alwena Morgan, Science Festival
  • Amber Wheatley, GEM Graduate

Winner was Ruth Jones, Research Officer

Annual Awards 2017 Outreach Image


“For more than 10 years Ruth has coordinated and facilitated various work experience placements across a number of research groups, with more recently taking on the official role of being named the Medical School Work Experience coordinator. Ruth ensures all students receive a good valuable experience, these included the recent nine AS Level Nuffield placement students who were at the Medical School this summer. On average Ruth plans and delivers work experience for around 20 students per year.”



Professor Cathy Thornton collected the award on Ruth Jones behalf.

Dean’s award

Awarded to an individual or team that has made a significant overall contribution to the Medical School. Shortlist and winner decided by Dean and Head of the Medical School, Professor Keith Lloyd


  • Chris George and Professor Alan Williams from the BHF Research Team
  • Marguerite Hill, Graduate Entry Medicine
  • Steven Kelly, Deputy-Director of the BEACON & Director of the EPSRC UK National Mass Spectrometry Facility
  • Cathy Thornton, Deputy Head of the Medical School

Winner was; Marguerite Hill, Graduate Entry Medicine

Annual Awards 2017 Deans Image


“Marguerite has made a quiet and unassuming but immense contribution to the delivery of the Graduate Entry Medicine programme”


Professor Keith Lloyd added "It’s great to see so many staff and students of Swansea University Medical School come together to celebrate all that we have achieved over the last year. Hope to see you all again next year."


Congratulations to all the winners and those who were shortlisted in all of the categories. To view the celebration images please visit our Flickr Gallery.