Collaborate 2017 Agenda: 17th October 2017 (08:00-16:00)


Registration and Refreshments

Cafe West, 1st Floor, Fulton House


  • Chair for the Conference: Dr Alan Sandry
  • Welcome and Introductions:
    • Mr Raymond Ciborowski, Deputy Chief Executive
    • Professor Keith Lloyd, Dean of the Medical School
Taliesin Theatre

Plenary 1

  • City Deal: Professor Marc Clement, Cllr Rob Stewart, Mr Mark James
  • Innovate UK: Mr Jon Wood
  • ACCELERATE, Health Innovation Acceleration: Mr Ifan Evans (Welsh Government)
Taliesin Theatre

Coffee Break

Breakout Rooms


  1. Research and Innovation
    • CHAIR Professor Gareth Jenkins Professor of Molecular Carcinogenesis, Swansea University
    • Professor Steve Bain Assistant Medical Director for Research and Development ABMU Health Board and Clinical Lead for the Diabetes Research Network Wales
    • Mr Joe Duran Director, Analytics and Performance Computing, Fujitsu Services
    • Mr Stephen Magowan Founder, Business Development Solutions Ltd
    • Professor Christopher George British Heart Foundation
  2. Health and Wellbeing
    • CHAIR Bernardine Rees OBE Hywel Dda University Health Board
    • Local Area Coordinator (LAC)
    • Gaynor Richards MBE Director, Neath Port Talbot CVS
    • Professor Ann John Professor in Public Health and Psychiatry at Swansea University Medical School
    • Professor Mark Rees, Neurology Research
  3. Business and Engagement
    • CHAIR Helen Mary Jones Deputy Director, The Morgan Academy
    • Dr Aled Eirug Morgan Academy
    • Dr Gerry Ronan Director of AgorIP, Swansea University
    • Dr Gwyneth Davies Respiratory Consultant and Asthma Lead, ABMU Health Board
    • Professor Keir Lewis Professor of Respiratory Medicine and Hon Chest Physician, Hywel Dda Health Board
  4. Skills and Workforce
    • CHAIR Professor Andrew Davies, Abertawe Bro Morganwwg University Health Board
    • Dr Heidi Phillips GP and Associate Professor, Swansea University Medical School
    • Professor Phil Newton Director of Learning and Teaching, Swansea University Medical School
    • Professor Ceri J. Phillips Head of College of Human and Health Sciences, Swansea University
    • Mr Kevin Smith Co-Founder, TrakCel Ltd
  1. Taliesin Theatre
  2. ILS1, 1st Floor Seminar Room
  3. Cafe West, 1st Floor, Fulton House
  4. ILS2 5th Floor, Hub

Lunch, Exhibition, Networking

Cafe West, 1st Floor, Fulton House

Plenary 2 - University Showcase

  • Patrols: Professor Shareen Doak
  • Aberystwyth Innovation & Enterprise Campus: Dr Rhian Hayward
  • ASTUTE 2020 & Cardiff University: Professor Ian Weeks and Ms Jacqueline Marsh
  • 3D Tech in Healthcare, UWTSD: Dr Sean Jenkins and Mr Matthew Bellis
 Taliesin Theatre

Plenary 3 - Industry Showcase

  • SIEMENS: Mr Peter Harrison
  • FUJITSU: Mr Joe Durran 
  • Pfizer UK: Ms Susan Donaldson
  • IBI Group: Mr Mark Drane
 Taliesin Theatre

Plenary 4 - IN CONVERSATION: The future for Health & Wellbeing in Wales Post-Brexit

  • Beven Commission: Ms Helen Howson
  • Swansea University Medical School: Professor Keith Lloyd
  • AMB University Health Board: Professor Hamish Laing
  • NHS Wales: Dr Richard Lewis
  • Pfizer UK: Ms Susan Donaldson
  • Aberystwyth Innovation and Enterprise Campus: Dr Rhian Hayward
 Taliesin Theatre

Final Thoughts with Professor Marc Clement

 Taliesin Theatre