Ensuring we meet the highest standards

The College of Law and Criminology has a Research Ethics and Governance Committee (CREC) to ensure its research is designed and conducted to meet key ethical principles and is subject to formal oversight. The group aims to:

  • Own and maintain the College’s Research Ethics and Governance policy and processes
  • Consider requests for ethical approval of research projects from staff and postgraduate students
  • Monitor ethical approvals for undergraduate student projects
  • Advise researchers on the design and review of research to ensure integrity, quality and transparency
  • Advise researchers on data management plans and expectations
  • Provide regular reports and updates to the University Research Ethics and Governance Sub-Committee; and
  • Provide an annual summary of activity to the Head of College and the University Research Ethics Committee.

The CREC meets once per term in January, May and September and when necessary at other times to consider ‘high risk’ applications.

The members of the committee are:

  • Dr Victoria Jenkins (Chair)
  • Prof Simon Baughen
  • Dr Arwel Davies
  • Dr Jane Williams
  • Dr Pamela Ugwudike
  • Mr Chris Marshall
  • Marty Chamberlain
  • Andrea Mateo 
  • Lay member (to be appointed)

Please note:

  • If you are a member of staff of making an application in relation to a grant funded project you do not need to apply for ethical approval from the College Research Ethics Committee in order to make an application for funding unless it is a specific requirement of the funding body. You must, however, make have gained ethical approval before the research begins.

Guidance on Completing Research Ethics Applications

University research governance procedures and issues of consent and data management

For an outline of the University’s research governance procedures and details of how to address issues of consent and data management please see Research Integrity A Policy Framework on Research Ethics & Governance.  Sections I and J on Research Data Protection and Research Data Management pages 38-54 are particularly helpful.

Information from the ESRC on research ethics

Also helpful is the information on research ethics provided by the ESRC particularly the frequently asked questions which are available here

Ethical research with children

On key areas for ethical research with children see further guidance herePlease also note the requirement under the All Wales Child Protection Procedures 2008 for every person in contact with or working with children, young people and their families to:

  • Understand their role and responsibilities to safeguard and promote the welfare of children;
  • Be familiar with and follow their organisation’s procedures and protocols for safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and know who to contact in their organisation to express concerns about a child’s welfare;
  • Be alert to indicators of abuse and neglect.

You must therefore be familiar with the All Wales Child Protection Procedures and understand the principles and practice contained in Safeguarding Children: Working Together under the Children Act 2004. Click here for further information.