The committee is comprised of a body of staff members within the CHHS and the medical school with relevant expertise (e.g. knowledge of healthcare law, various kinds of research and nursing practice, and healthcare ethics), including the secretary of the committee.

The committee may co-opt external members where special expertise not present within the committee is needed.

The current membership and expertise of the committee are as follows:

ChairSherrill Snelgrove

Public Health and Policy Studies

Vice Chair: Steve Edwards

Ethics/Philosophy of Healthcare

Craig Toutt


Jeanette Hewitt

Mental Health Nursing

Susanne Darra


Jaynie Rance 

Public Health and Policy Studies

Steve Capey


Mr John Buckman

Lay member

Zac Maunder

Children's Nursing

Christine Dobbs

Patient Voice: Vulnerable Groups

Athanasios Anastasiou

Health Informatics

Angela Smith

Health Care Law

Sarah Jones

Committee Administrator 

Julia Parkhouse 

Child Law

Andrew Kemp


Louise Condon


Ross Johnston


Members are normally appointed by the Head of College, or by a nominee of the Head of College, for a tenure of 2-3 years in the first instance.

Contact us

Use the links on the side to find further information, or contact the Committee's administrator, Sarah Jones on or 01792 295789