German Staff

 Click on the lecturer's names below for further profile information about specialisms, research and publications.

Lecturer

Position Email Room

Telephone

Specialism

Professor Duncan Large

 Professor   d.a.g.large@swansea.ac.uk  419 4729   Friedrich Nietzsche and French Nietzsche interpretation; Austrian modernist literature (especially Robert Musil, Hermann Broch, Arthur Schnitzler); German Romantic literature (especially E.T.A. Hoffmann, Ludwig Tieck); Comparative literature; Anglo-German literary relations (especially German reception of Shakespeare, Laurence Sterne); Translation and translation studies; Sarah Kofman and contemporary critical theory.

Professor Julian Preece

 Professor  j.e.preece@swansea.ac.uk  432  2949  Günter Grass, Kafka, Elias Canetti, Veza Canetti, German literary letters, Baader-Meinhof and the novel, biography, literature and history, literature and politics, contemporary German literature.

Dr Tom Cheesman

 

Reader t.cheesman@swansea.ac.uk

420

4030

Popular song; Turkish German writing; Literary translation and adaptation; Refugees and asylum; Shakespeare’s texts in world-wide transformations; Digital Humanities.

Dr Brigid Haines

Reader b.haines@swansea.ac.uk

435

4028

Nineteenth- and twentieth-century literature; German women's writing; Gender in German literature; Contemporary German writing from central and eastern Europe; Herta Müller.

Dr Katharina Hall

Senior Lecturer k.hall@swansea.ac.uk

416

4882

Post-war and contemporary German literature; German and transnational crime fiction, television and film; literary, filmic and historical representations of National Socialism and the Holocaust; the relationship between memory and history; critical theory (psychoanalytic, narrative, reader-response).
Mr Terry Holmes Lecturer (retired) t.m.holmes@swansea.ac.uk   148 5721  Mr Holmes is interested in German literature from the eighteenth to the twentieth century, and particularly in the connections between literature and politics.
Ms Ute Keller Lektorin  u.keller@swansea.ac.uk 434  2457  Ms Keller's experience is predominantly business-related and ranges from export marketing to technical translation, with a special interest in comparative business relocation in Germany and the UK
Ms Christiane Gunther DAAD Lektorin c.guenther@swansea.ac.uk 417 4887 German language and culture