French Staff

 Click on each lecturer's name to go through to individual profiles and information.

Professor Derek Connon d.f.connon@swansea.ac.uk Drama from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries, currently working on an edition of Alexis Piron's tragedy 'Gustave Wasa' and the drama of Cocteau.  Editor of the French section of the 'Modern Language Review', a section editor of the 'MHRA Working Papers in the Humanities' and on the advisory panel of 'Romance Studies'
Professor Andrew Rothwell   a.j.rothwell@swansea.ac.uk 20th and 21st-century French poetry and the visual arts; Modernism and the avant-garde (especially dada and surrealism); Literary and technical translation; Translation theory; Translation technologies; Computerised text analysis.
Dr Kathryn Jones k.n.jones@swansea.ac.uk Post-war and contemporary French and German literature, Travel writing, War and conflict studies, French and German postcolonial studies, Migrant writing, Memory studies, Literary, filmic and historical representations of the Holocaust, the Second World War and the Algerian war of independence, Gender studies.
Dr Joanne Langley j.langley@swansea.ac.uk Modern French poetry, text and image, Orientalism.
Dr Nathalie Morello n.morello@swansea.ac.uk Main research interests are in the field of post-war women’s writing, both autobiography and fiction, especially female representations of mother-child relationships and of female sexuality.
Dr Catherine Rodgers c.rodgers@swansea.ac.uk Research interests are mainly in French contemporary women writing (Darrieussecq, Garat, Laurens, Nothomb), French feminism, and in the works of Simone de Beauvoir and Marguerite Duras. Co-founded the Société Marguerite Duras in 1996 and co-edits its Bulletin; also on the editing board of Romance Studies.
Dr Sophie Smith s.smith@swansea.ac.uk Specialist Subjects: Masculinity and Gender, Gender in the Islamic world, manifestations of Orientalism in contemporary Western culture.
Dr Alison Williams a.j.williams@swansea.ac.uk Medieval French literature, Renaissance French literature, medical humanities, humour theory, historical fiction, gender, ecocriticism.

Mr Julien Hamilton-Hart

 J.Hamilton-Hart@Swansea.ac.uk My fields of specialization and ongoing investigation are: E-Learning & Digital Media, Web Development and Website creation, Media adaptations: subtitling, audio-description, voice-over, dubbing, Translation, Pedagogies of Learning, MOOCS, Social Networking for language Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Online consolidation techniques for Learning and Teaching, Employability, Literature, Poetry, 16th Century Travel literature, Renaissance Education and Educators, and Creative Writing.