Athena SWAN in the College of Engineering

The Equality Challenge Unit's Athena SWAN

"Championing advancement in gender equality"

Athena SWAN Bronze Award

null

The College of Engineering was awarded an Athena SWAN Bronze Award in October 2016. 

Winning the award acknowledges that the College of Engineering ‘recognises a solid foundation for eliminating gender bias and developing an inclusive culture that values all staff’ according to Athena SWAN guidelines.

This includes:

  • an assessment of gender equality in the college, including quantitative (staff data) and qualitative (policies, practices, systems and  arrangements) evidence and identifying both challenges and opportunities
  • a four-year plan that builds on this assessment, information on activities that are already in place and what has been learned from these
  • the development of an organisational structure, including a self-assessment team, to carry proposed actions forward.

Head of College, Professor Stephen Brown said: “I am immensely proud that the College of Engineering has been awarded the Athena SWAN Bronze Award. We are deeply committed to gender equality and continually work to embed the principles of Athena SWAN into the culture and day to day running of the college. I am hugely grateful for the commitment and dedication of the Athena SWAN team within the College and offer my sincerest thanks to all in recognition of their hard work towards making this achievement happen, in particular to Dr Camilla Knight who is a driving force behind Athena SWAN in the College and was the co-lead on our submission for the award.”

The Equality Challenge Unit established the Athena SWAN Charter in 2005 to encourage and recognise commitment to advancing the careers of women in STEMM employment in higher education and research.

In May 2015 the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL), and in professional and support roles, and for trans staff and students. The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

Click here to find out more about the Athena SWAN Charter in Swansea University.

Download Athena SWAN Bronze Application .

College of Engineering Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team 2017

Name Working Group Email address
Steve Brown All s.g.r.brown@swansea.ac.uk
Ruth Bunting All r.j.bunting@swansea.ac.uk
Elaine Richards All elaine.richards@swansea.ac.uk
Cath Bagley Culture c.e.bagley@swansea.ac.uk
Karin Ennser Careers k.ennser@swansea.ac.uk
Kelly Jervis Careers k.m.jervis@swansea.ac.uk
Camilla Knight All c.j.knight@swansea.ac.uk
Mark Whittaker Data lead m.t.whittaker@swansea.ac.uk
Patricia Xavier Careers lead p.a.xavier@swansea.ac.uk
Clare Wood Culture lead c.wood@swansea.ac.uk
Adam Jones Communications lead r.adam.jones@swansea.ac.uk
Serena Margadonna Careers s.margadonna@swansea.ac.uk
Liz Sackett Data e.sackett@swansea.ac.uk
Ian Evans Communications i.w.evans@swansea.ac.uk
Jane Wallace Communications s.j.wallace@swansea.ac.uk
Ankush Aggarwal Communications a.aggarwal@swansea.ac.uk
Scott Bagwell Data 638988@swansea.ac.uk
Rhodri Williams Culture p.r.williams@swansea.ac.uk
Pete Greenwood Culture p.c.greenwood@swansea.ac.uk
Nick Barnard Data n.c.barnard@swansea.ac.uk
Natalie DeMello Communications N.Demello@swansea.ac.uk
Davide Deganello Communications D.Deganello@swansea.ac.uk
Youmna Mouhamad   y.mouhamad@swansea.ac.uk
Louise Hamdy   l.b.hamdy@swansea.ac.uk
Trystan Watson   t.m.watson@swansea.ac.uk
Sam Rolland Communications s.rolland@swansea.ac.uk
Gareth Rees Data g.j.rees@swansea.ac.uk