The 2016 International Dylan Thomas Prize, one of the world’s most prestigious prizes for young writers, which is sponsored by Swansea University, will open for entries on 1 September 2015.

The £30,000 prize is awarded to the best eligible published literary work in English, written by an author aged 39 or under. 39 is the age limit as that is how old Dylan Thomas was when he died in 1953.

Dylan Thomas PrizeThe winner will be announced at the final awards ceremony in Swansea, Wales, on 14 May 2016. The closing date for entries is 2 November 2015.

Launched in 2006, the annual International Dylan Thomas Prize is one of the most prestigious awards for young writers, aimed at encouraging raw creative talent worldwide. It celebrates and nurtures international literary excellence.

Read more about the International Dylan Thomas Prize

How to enter

Past winners have come from Wales, England, the USA and Vietnam, and include: Joshua Ferris (To Rise Again at a Decent Hour); Claire Vaye Watkins (Battleborn); Maggie Shipstead (Seating Arrangements); and Rachel Trezise (Fresh Apples).

Joshua FerrisPicture: 2014 Prize winner Joshua Ferris, with a bust of Dylan Thomas

Dr Elaine Canning, director of the Research Institute for Arts and Humanities at Swansea University, said:

"Dylan Thomas, the quintessential adolescent writer, was ideally suited to serve as an inspiration to young writers everywhere. The freshness and immediacy of his writing were qualities that he never lost. The Prize seeks to ensure that readers today will have the chance to savour the vitality and sparkle of a new generation of young writers."

Professor John Spurr, Head of the College of Arts and Humanities at Swansea University, said:

"Swansea University is deeply proud of our partnership with the Prize. We have common goals: we aim to nurture talent, to celebrate creativity, and to achieve international excellence. We want to take the best of Swansea to the world and bring artists, scholars and students from around the globe to South Wales."

Cerys Matthews and books 2014Pictures from the 2014 awards ceremony

The international scope of the prize is clear from the shortlist for the 2014 Prize which included acclaimed writers drawing on a rich mix of background influences: Wales, England, Ireland, Jamaica, the United States, Russia and New Zealand:

• Joshua Ferris, To Rise Again at a Decent Hour (Viking),
• Naomi Wood, Mrs Hemingway (Picador)
• Kseniya Melnik, Snow in May (Fourth Estate).
• Kei Miller, The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion (Carcanet Press) ,
• Owen Sheers, Mametz (National Theatre Wales),
• Eimear McBride, A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing (Galley Beggar/Faber & Faber).
• Eleanor Catton,The Luminaries (Granta).

Picture: Broadcaster and musician Cerys Matthews, one of the judges of the 2014 Prize, with the longlist of entries for that year, which was whittled down to a shortlist of seven.